Colourful Meaning of the LGBT Pride Flag

As we learned in a previous post, the rainbow flag was designed by Gilbert Baker from San Francisco in 1976. Originally, it had eight colours that were chosen to reflect the diversity of the LGBT community; over time, it has changed and today’s version has 6 colours:

Red: represents the symbol of life.

Orange: represents healing.

Yellow: is a symbol of  sunlight.

Green: represents nature.

Blue: is a symbol of serenity.

Violet: represents spirit.

The rainbow flag is a universal symbol; one that represents inclusivity, acceptance and love. Displaying it, whether as a member of the LGBT community or as an ally, promotes the individual meanings of each of its colours. We can all benefit from that :)

Like this post? Consider subscribing!

Photo credit:


Leave a comment